Who we are

There are nine community councillors on Llanfrynach Community Council. Two represent the Cantref Ward (which includes Nant Ddu), four the Llanhamlach Ward (which includes Groesffordd and Llechfaen) and three the Llanfrynach Ward.  There is one vacancy in Llanhamlach ward at the moment.
All of them are volunteers. There is one paid member of the team, a part time Clerk.


Mrs Barbara Smith (Chairman and Chairman of the Utility and HR Committees)

Twyn Cottage, Cantref, Brecon. LD3 8LP.  Tel.o1874 623 947, email barbara.smith777@btinternet.com.  Co-opted Councillor.  Member of the Utility Committee and the Human Resources Committee.

Julie Lowe

Y Cwrt, Pen Cantref, Cantref, Brecon. LD3 8LT.  Telephone:07970 119918, email via sue.dale@llanfrynach-community.org.uk.  Co-opted Councillor. Member of the Utility Committee.


 Mr Ian Matthews

Ty Fry, Llanfrynach, Brecon.  Tel.01874 665256, email matthewsbfc@aol.com Elected Councillor. Member of the Utility Committee and the HR Committee.
ianI was born in Cantref where my roots go back several generations and live at Llwyncelyn with my wife and two children. I have developed a successful fence contracting business dealing with local and national companies and joined the Community Council in 2014.


Mr Charles DeWinton 

Ty Mawr Farm, Llanfrynach, Brecon, LD3 7AZ.  Tel. 01874 665493, email charles.dewinton@btinternet.com. Elected Councillor and member of the utility committee.

 I am a Chartered Surveyor and have worked in and around South Wales all my professional life.  My family have lived in Llanfrynach since C19th and I have sat on the Community Council since 2003.  I am a keen supporter and participant in rural activities and am especially keen on seeing rural enterprise flourish in the locality.


Mr Ray Powell

Ray is newly elected to the Community Council and can be contacted via the Clerk Tel. 01874 730202, email sue.dale@llanfrynach-community.org.uk . Elected Councillor.  Member of the Utility Committee.



Mr Bill Burrows (VICE-CHAIRMAN)

Rheillfordd, Groesffordd, Brecon, LD3 7SN.  Tel. 01874 665301, email bill.burrows101@btinternet.com.  Elected Councillor.  Member of the Utility Committee.
I spent the earlier part of my career as an electronic design engineer, I later moved into a marketing role. Prior to my retirement I was the Business Development Manager for a global instrumentation manufacturer.

Ms Jackie Williams

4, Waun Berllan, Llanfrynach, Brecon.  LD3 7AJ.  Tel. 01874 655357, email jwilliams647@btinternet.com.  Co-opted Councillor.  Member of the Utility Committee and the HR Committee.

Mr Steve Prothero

15, Groesffordd, Brecon, LD3 7SN.  Telephone 01874 730 202, email steveprothero12@outlook.com.  Co-opted Councillor.  Member of the Utility Committee.

Sue Dale (Clerk)

Boat House, Coed-yr-Ynys Road, Llangynidr, Powys. NP8 1NA.  Tel, 01874 730202, email sue.dale@llanfrynach-community.org.uk.
I have lived most of my adult life in Greater London where I was a Psychologist in the Civil Service.  Then my husband had the chance to come to Wales with his job and we moved to Llangynidr in 2004.  In 2012, when my children were nearly grown, I started clerking which I really enjoy.

Mr Liam Fitzpatrick (County Councillor)

1, Tregaer Road, Llanfrynach, Brecon, LD3 7HT.  Te. 01874 665519.  Email, cllr.liam.fitzpatrick@powys.gov.uk.